Skip to main content

 –

Assigning privileges

Suggest edit Updated on December 13, 2021

As of Deployment Manager 5.1.x, you can assign privileges to users to define or restrict access to the different features and functionality within the portal. See below for a list of privileges associated with each category of Deployment Manager.

Pipeline privileges

Pipeline privileges

PrivilegeDescription
ManageCreate a pipeline, edit pipeline settings and pipeline model, delete and archive an active pipeline. Additionally, can activate an archived pipeline for an authorized application.
Disable/ enableDisable an active pipeline with active deployments. Enable a disabled pipeline.

Deployment privileges

Deployment privileges

PrivilegeDescription
StartStart a deployment for a pipeline of an authorized application.
AbortAbort an active or failed deployment for an authorized application
RollbackRollback a deployment for an authorized application.
Pause/resumePause an active deployment or resume a paused deployment of an authorized application.
PromotePromote a deployment waiting for a manual transition to the next stage for any authorized application.

Task privileges

Task privileges

PrivilegeDescription
Approve/reject Approve or reject a task in a deployment waiting for user input.
Manage schema updateAct on schema updates encountered during deployment.
Managed aged updateAct on aged updates encountered during deployment.
Admin approvalApprove or reject a task in case the assignee for the task has not provided input. Can approve or reject a task in a deployment awaiting user input.
Run ad hocRun an ad hoc task from the pipeline actions menu, allowing a user to deploy or package against a selected environment.
Skip on failureSkip a failed task and resume deployment from next available task. Note: You cannot skip the Generate artifact and Publish to production tasks.

System privileges

System privileges

PrivilegeDescription
Manage system settingsManage orchestrator system settings. Provides the option to manage roles and email configuration. This privilege is typically applied to super admins only.
Dev studio switchSwitch to Dev Studio from Deployment Manager portal.
PeopleCreate, edit or delete users of Deployment Manager.
Manage authentication profileAdd, edit or delete Authentication Profiles required for inter-system communication.

Default roles

Default roles

RoleDescription
SuperAdminPerform all actions on the Deployment Manager system for all applications.
AppAdminPerform all actions specific to an authorized application, such as manage People, Authentication Profiles, Pipelines, Deployments and Tasks.
PipelineUserView a pipeline and start a deployment for an authorized application.
Did you find this content helpful? YesNo

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Collaboration Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.

Ready to crush complexity?

Experience the benefits of Pega Community when you log in.

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best.

Pega.com is not optimized for Internet Explorer. For the optimal experience, please use:

Close Deprecation Notice
Contact us