Skip to main content

Managing applications in the Pega Process Fabric Hub

Suggest edit Updated on August 27, 2021

Respond in a flexible way to dynamically changing business objectives by governing the life cycle of the applications that you connect to the Pega Process Fabric Hub. As a result, you ensure that the Pega Process Fabric Hub reflects the actual work in your organization. You also save time because you can manage the connections between all your applications and the Pega Process Fabric Hub on one screen.

For example, you can stop synchronization with an application that currently is not in use in your organization, so that the Pega Process Fabric Hub stops syncing data with the application. Later, you can start the synchronization again when the business circumstances change.
Manage your remote applications in the Pega Process Fabric Hub by performing the following actions:

Updating work queue data

Resynchronize mapping between work queues and operators in the Pega Process Fabric Hub to reflect latest changes in your organization, and to ensure that the Pega Process Fabric Hub correctly routes work.

For example, you can update work queue data after you create new work queues in your remote application and associate them with users, or when associations between users and work queues change.
  1. In the navigation pane of the Pega Process Fabric Hub, click Registered applications.
  2. In the Registered applications section, click the application for which you want to update mapping.
  3. Click ActionsUpdate work queue data.
  4. In the Update work queue data dialog box, click Update.
For example:

Disabling and enabling applications

Exclude assignments from an application from work queues, worklists, reports, and the Next Best Work algorithm without stopping the synchronization of data between the application and the Pega Process Fabric Hub by disabling the application. After your scenario changes, you can enable the application.

For example, you can disable an application when you need to update the application security configuration and you do not want users to log in to the application. The data synchronization continues after you disable the application but users cannot access the assignments or assignments data from the application in the Pega Process Fabric Hub.
  1. In the navigation pane of the Pega Process Fabric Hub, click Registered applications.
  2. In the Registered applications section, click the application that you want to disable.
  3. Disable the application:
    1. Click ActionsDisable.
    2. In the Disable application dialog box, click Disable.
    Result: The excludes assignments from the application from work queues, worklists, reports, and the Next Best Work. The application is disabled, as in the following figure:
    Disabled application details
    Application details with a message and a status that inform that
                                the application is disabled.
  4. When appropriate, enable the application:
    1. In the application section header, click Enable.
    2. In the Enable application dialog box, click Enable.
    Result: The application is active in the Pega Process Fabric Hub, as in the following figure. The Pega Process Fabric Hub includes assignments from the application in work queues, worklists, reports, and the Next Best Work.
    Active application
    Details of an application with a message and a status that inform
                                that the application is active.
For example:

Stopping and starting synchronization with the Pega Process Fabric Hub

Stop data synchronization to temporarily pause data publication between your remote application and the Pega Process Fabric Hub, for example when you want to upgrade the registered application and the upgrade might impact the assignments data. You can restart the synchronization when your scenario changes.

  1. In the navigation pane of the Pega Process Fabric Hub, click Registered applications.
  2. In the Registered applications section, click the application that you want to stop syncing data with the Pega Process Fabric Hub.
  3. Stop data synchronization:
    1. Click ActionsStop sync
    2. In the Stop sync dialog box, click Stop sync.
    Result: The data synchronization between the remote application and the Pega Process Fabric Hub is discontinued, as shown in the following figure:
    Sync stopped application details
    Application details for an application that is disabled and the
                                synchronization is stopped.
  4. When appropriate, restart data synchronization:
    1. In the application section header, click Start sync.
    2. In the Start sync dialog box, click Start sync.
    Result: The remote application is active and synchronizes data with the Pega Process Fabric Hub.
For example:

Editing application details in the Pega Process Fabric Hub

Adjust the connection between your remote application and the Pega Process Fabric Hub to dynamically changing circumstances by editing application details. For example, you can update client secret, client ID, or URL.

  1. In the navigation pane of the Pega Process Fabric Hub, click Registered applications.
  2. In the Registered applications section, click the application that you want to update.
  3. Click ActionsEdit.
  4. In the Edit application details dialog box, enter new values.
  5. Click Update.
For example: The following figure shows the Edit application details dialog box with sample details that you can update:
Editing application details
A dialog box with application details that you can update.

Deleting applications from the Pega Process Fabric Hub

When your business scenario no longer requires a connection between your remote application and the Pega Process Fabric Hub, delete the application from the Pega Process Fabric Hub.

Before you begin: Stop data synchronization between your remote application and the Pega Process Fabric Hub. For more information, see Stopping and starting synchronization with the Pega Process Fabric Hub.

You can also delete an application before you activate it for the first time.

Deleting an application permanently removes related work queues and assignments from the Pega Process Fabric Hub. Deleting the application does not delete the application from your system but permanently deletes the connection between the Pega Process Fabric Hub and your application. If you want to get back to using the deleted application, you need to activate the application again. For more information, see Activating applications in the Pega Process Fabric Hub.

  1. In the navigation pane of the Pega Process Fabric Hub, click Registered applications.
  2. In the Registered applications section, click the application that you want to delete.
  3. Click ActionsDelete.
  4. In the Delete application dialog box, click Delete.
For example:
Did you find this content helpful? YesNo

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Collaboration Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.

Ready to crush complexity?

Experience the benefits of Pega Community when you log in.

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best.

Pega.com is not optimized for Internet Explorer. For the optimal experience, please use:

Close Deprecation Notice
Contact us