Skip to main content

Auto-purging robot operational data

Suggest edit Updated on October 8, 2021

Maintain the optimal performance of your system by periodically removing unused or obsolete data from your archives. Auto-purging removes archived data permanently.

You can also purge archived data manually, as needed.
Before you begin: Ensure that your operator account is associated with the Report Admin user role. For more information, see Default access roles.

Enabling automatic purge of archived robot operational data

Enable regular removal of obsolete or unused robot operational data from archive tables to comply with your corporate policy, maintain system health, and remove the need to perform manual data cleanups.

Enable auto-purging when upgrading from Pega Robot Manager version 8.5.1 and earlier, or when you manually disable auto-purging of robot operational data when creating a new application.

  1. In the navigation pane of Pega Robot Manager, click SettingsReporting.
  2. Expand the Auto-purging of operational statistics data section.
    See the following figure for reference:
    Auto-purging settings post-upgrade or when the option was previously disabled
    Auto-purging settings are enabled by a switch, while manual purging
                                is selected through a menu.
  3. Turn on the Enable auto-purge switch.
  4. In the Enable/Disable auto-purge dialog window, click Yes.
Result: You enabled automatic purging of archived robot operational data with the following default settings:Health data14 daysExceptions14 daysHourly usage data96 hoursDaily usage data60 daysMonthly usage data48 monthsYearly usage data8 yearsWhat to do next: Depending on your business goals and requirements, adjust how often Pega Robot Manager purges data.

Adjusting the frequency of automatic purge of archived robot data

Customize the default settings for purging robot operational data to meet your business goals or system performance requirements. By routinely purging data, you maintain the optimal performance of your system.

Before you begin: ensure that auto-purging of robot operational data is enabled.
  1. In the navigation pane of Pega Robot Manager, click SettingsReporting.
  2. Expand the Auto-purging of operational statistics data section, as shown in the following figure:
    Viewing the current auto-purging settings
    The current auto-purging settings can be edited through the More
                                menu in the top-right corner.
  3. Optional: To manually purge archived robot operational data, perform the following actions:
    1. Click the More icon and select Purge.
    2. In the Purge data dialog box, select a data type that you want to purge, and then click Next.
    3. Select the date range to purge, and then click Next.
    4. Confirm your settings by clicking Submit.
    5. Optional: Repeat this step to manually purge more data types.
  4. Optional: To use a setting value from a built-on application, remove the corresponding setting from the current application layer:
    1. Click the Remove from current application icon.
    2. In the confirmation modal dialog window, click Submit.
    Result: You now inherit the setting value from the built-on application.
  5. Optional: To specialize a setting in the current application layer, copy the corresponding setting from a built-on application:
    1. Click the Copy application setting(s) to current application icon.
    2. In the Copy settings for reporting window, select the application from which you want to copy the setting.
    3. Select the application from which to copy the settings.
    4. Click Submit.
    Tip: If the current application layer inherits all settings from a built-on application, you can click the More icon, and then select Copy settings to specialize settings in the current application layer in bulk.
    Specialize auto-purge settings in bulk
    How to specialize settings from a built-on application in the
                                    current app layer in bulk
    Result: You created an application-specific setting with a customizable value.
  6. Optional: To view the most current version of auto-purging settings, click the More icon and then select Refresh settings.
    Perform this step when adjusting the settings for a prolonged period of time without saving or when another user might have modified the settings in a concurrent session.
  7. Click the More icon and then select Edit settings.
  8. Adjust the purging settings for various data types by modifying the corresponding Interval property, as shown in the following figure:
    Configuring the auto-purging settings
    Settings inherited from built-on applications are read-only
  9. Confirm your settings by clicking Save.
Did you find this content helpful? YesNo

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Collaboration Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best.

Pega.com is not optimized for Internet Explorer. For the optimal experience, please use:

Close Deprecation Notice
Contact us