Skip to main content

Managing support contacts

Suggest edit Updated on November 30, 2021

As the Support Contact Administrator for your company, you have different actions that are available to you, depending on whether your company’s support account is qualified as an on-premises Pega product account or as a Pega Cloud service account.

Support Contact Administrator actions and their purposes

Action

Description

Add Users

Specify individuals for your Pegasystems Support account who can use support and self-service resources at Pega.

Assign Roles

Assign roles to support contacts as defined in Support user roles.

Remove UsersRemove individuals and their assigned roles.
Review Users and Roles

Review the designated support contacts for your Pegasystems support account, their roles, and when they last signed on to My Support Portal.

You may search for specific users or export the entire list of users to a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet.

Review your support contacts frequently to ensure that they are current and have the correct role assignments. Update your support contacts as needed for your Pegasystems support account.

 

If you are a Support Contact Administrator for your Pegasystems support account, you can see the Manage Usersmenu in My Support Portal.

Using My Support Portal > Manage Users, you can add and remove users and assign roles to the users who are designated support contacts for your company.

Support Contact Administration provides the Manage Users menu option.
Support Contract Administration menu option Manage Users
  1. On the Pega Community, go to My Support Portal. The Support Cases page displays.
  2. From the menu, click Manage Users. The Support Contact Administrator page for managing users displays. Your Pegasystems account name is displayed in the Account field. All the authorized Pega users for your account are listed by name, email address, last signed on date, and assigned role.
    Select users and assign them roles as support contacts from the Manage Users screen.
    The Manage Users screen for selecting support contacts and assigning them roles
  3. Manage the authorized users in your account.

Search for users to review and update
Add user
Edit user role
Remove user
Get help

Search for users to review and update

To search for a user in your account, in the Search Usersfield, type a few characters to see a list of users and select the name you need to review and update: Edit the role or remove the user.

Sort the list of authorized users by clicking any column header.

Tip: To view the full list of users again, delete the name in the Search Usersfield, and then click the Refreshbutton.

Add user

  1. To add a user, in the New Userfield, type a few characters to see a list of registered users in your account and select the name that you want to add. If the user you want to add has an email account in a domain other than your account domain, type the user’s complete email address.
  2. Click Add User. The user who you add is listed on the page with the default role Product Support.

If you specified a user who does not have a Pega Community account, you see this error message: This address has not yet been registered for PEGA COMMUNITY.

Edit user role

  1. To change a user’s role or assign additional roles for a user, click the user’s name.
  2. Select the appropriate role for the user. See Support user roles for role definitions.

Remove user

To remove a user, click the Trash icon in the Removecolumn for the user.

When removing a user, you should take the following points into consideration:

Primary Contact

If the user was listed as a primary contact (also known as client contact) on a support case, once removed: 

  1. Their name will no longer appear as primary contact for the case (whether open or closed). 
  2. They will no longer see previous pulse messages in their pulse feed. 
  3. They will no longer receive new pulse messages for the case. 
  4. They will no longer receive pulse email notifications for the case. 

For open cases the system will automatically replace the primary contact with the Support contact administrator, where the primary contact is removed.  

If this is not the appropriate person to work with support resources on the case, you may wish to change this to another resource. This can be done via editing the specific case. 

Additional Contact 

If the user was listed as an additional contact on a support case, once removed: 

  1. Their name will no longer appear as additional contact for the case (whether open or closed). 
  2. They will no longer see previous pulse messages in their pulse feed. 
  3. They will no longer receive new pulse messages for the case. 
  4. They will no longer receive pulse email notifications for the case. 

Followers 

If the user was following support cases, once removed: 

  1. They will immediately be removed as a follower on the case (whether open or closed). 
  2. They will no longer see previous pulse messages in their pulse feed. 
  3. They will no longer receive new pulse messages for the case. 
  4. They will no longer receive pulse email notifications for the case. 

 

Get help

To display the Help topic for Manage Users, click the question mark (?) icon at the top-right of the page.

Did you find this content helpful? YesNo

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Collaboration Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.

Ready to crush complexity?

Experience the benefits of Pega Community when you log in.

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best.

Pega.com is not optimized for Internet Explorer. For the optimal experience, please use:

Close Deprecation Notice
Contact us