Skip to main content

About the Delete a Class wizard

Suggest edit
Updated on November 29, 2021

You can use the Delete a Class wizard to remove a class, all of its pattern- inheritance dependent classes and associated objects such as properties, activities, instances (including work items, attachments and assignments).

You can only delete classes that meet the following restrictions:

  • The class is not in the basic Pega- rulesets that define the Pega Platform.
  • The class is in a ruleset listed in your ruleset list.
  • The class is not mapped to an external database table.

Starting the wizard

Select ConfigureSystemRefactorClassesDelete a Class to start the wizard.

You can return to a previous step using the <<Back button. No rules are altered by the wizard until you click Next>> in step 2. For instructions on the forms, see:

Resuming the wizard

This tool creates a work item with prefix pxW-. To find open wizard work items, select the menu option Dev Studio > Application > Tools > All Wizards .

Note:

Checked out rules associated with the class will be deleted. Unlike other rule management wizards, the Delete a Class wizard does not identify and warn of checked out rules among those to be deleted.

Deleting a class might render an application inoperative. Always back up the Pega Platform system before deleting a class.

This wizard can't delete a rule that belongs to a locked ruleset version. Locked rules will be left in place during the deletion and listed on the summary of undeleted rules on page 3 of the wizard, Search for References.

The wizard cannot delete a class if it contains one or more rules that have failed deletion (perhaps because they belong to a locked ruleset version.) However, all rules that can be deleted will be when you run the wizard. To complete deleting the class, you must unlock or otherwise make it possible for the undeleted rules to be deleted and then run the wizard again.

Errors are written to a log. To examine the log, use the Application Explorer to view instances of the Log-Delete-Class.

Classes related to deleted classes by directed inheritance are not deleted. If the specified class is a subclass of Work-, all instances are deleted prior to the deletion of the class.

  • Previous topic About the Rename a Class wizard
  • Next topic Using the Delete a Class wizard - Step 1: Select Class to Delete
Did you find this content helpful? YesNo

100% found this useful

Have a question? Get answers now.

Visit the Support Center to ask questions, engage in discussions, share ideas, and help others.

We'd prefer it if you saw us at our best.

Pega.com is not optimized for Internet Explorer. For the optimal experience, please use:

Close Deprecation Notice
Contact us